Maryland Minimum Wage Increases Go into Effect July 2018
In July 2018, the minimum wage in Maryland increases to $10.10 per hour. Amusement and recreational establishment workers should be paid at least 85% of the State minimum wage of $7.25 per hour, whichever is higher. Tipped employees earning more than $30 per month in tips must be paid at least $3.63 per hour but the hourly amount plus tips must be equal to at least the State minimum wage. Workers under the age of 20 can be paid a training wage of 85% of the State minimum wage for the first six months of their employment. Click here to read more about this increase and the other types of workers who are exempt from the State minimum wage.
In Montgomery County, Maryland, the minimum wage increases to $12 per hour for employers with 50 or less employees, and $12.25 for employers with over 50 employees. Amusement and recreational establishment workers who meet certain requirements are able to pay employees at least 85% of the State minimum wage. Employers are also allowed to pay a training wage of 85 percent of the minimum wage to employees under the age of 20 for the first six months of their employment. Tipped employees such as wait staff must be paid at least $4.00 per hour and this hourly rate plus tips must equal at least the Montgomery County minimum wage rate. Click here to read more about this increase and the other types of workers who are exempt to the Montgomery County minimum wage.
In Prince George’s County, Maryland, the County minimum wage remains $11.50 per hour without any changes. Tipped employees and employees of amusement and recreational establishments in Prince George’s County, Maryland, have the same pay rates as explained above under Maryland State minimum wage laws. Click here to read more about this increase and the other types of workers who are exempt to the Prince George’s County minimum wage.
The State of Maryland’s Department of Labor Licensing and Regulation (DLLR) maintains a website with more information regarding the State and County minimum wage, with online posters outlining these increases. The DLLR enforces both the State and County minimum wage laws for employees whose employers are not paying them the State and County mandated minimum wage.
If you work in Maryland and have not been paid the minimum wage, it is important to maintain a record of the dates and hours worked, the wages paid (if any), and the amount still owed. If you worked in Maryland and were not paid the minimum wage for your work, please contact our office online or via telephone at (301) 869-8774 to schedule a consultation.
This blog is not intended to provide legal advice or representation, but rather to provide very general information regarding a variety of subject areas. The viewing of the information contained on this blog does not create or establish an attorney-client relationship. Further, this information should not be relied upon without first consulting with an attorney regarding your specific situation.